Our New League 101 (Franjo: A Journeyman Story – Mini-sode 12.5)

Let me give a quick overview for those who, like myself, had never looked at the Portugese third tier before I took this job.

Start from the start with episode 1

< Episode 12

Listen, I thought I’d just take a breather from this epic and relentlessly thrilling story to explain that the Portugese Championship is a confusing, confusing league for someone like myself who’s used to very basic set ups such as the Premier League or EFL.

So with that in mind let me give a quick overview for those who, like myself, had never looked at the Portugese third tier before I took this job. Let this be your reference sheet if things get confusing.

The League initially works with 8 groups of 10 teams playing round-robins between themselves. The top 2 and bottom 8 sides of each group then proceed to the Promotion stage and Relegation stage respectively.

For Clarity, WE ARE HERE. The First Stage has ended and we are into the Relegation Stage.

During the Relegation stage, teams are mixed up and put into 8 groups of 8, and they start with 25% of the points that they accrued during the First Stage. The bottom 2 teams in each group are relegated and the 6th placed teams all go into the Relegation Playoffs.

During the playoffs the 8 teams pair off and play sort of a 2 legged quarter final, with the losing 4 teams getting relegated. The winners then go through to the second round of the playoffs where they pair off again and play sort of a 2 legged semi final, with the 2 losers getting relegated and the 2 winners staying up. Overall 22 out of 64 teams are relegated during the relegation stage.

And this bit doesn’t apply to us, not yet at least, but just because I’m a thorough guy, in the Promotion stage you have 2 groups of 8 teams but they start on 0 points and the top team from each group gets promoted and qualifies for the Champions Playoff to determine the winner of the Championship. The 2nd place team in each group qualifies for the Promotion Playoffs, where they play against the 2 sides who occupy the Liga Pro (Portuguese 2nd tier) Relegation Play Off spots.

Does that make sense? Cool, it doesn’t to me really either, but you know, “Learn by doing” and all that.

Actually I feel quite bad that this “mini-sode” doesn’t have any impact on the story I’m telling, so here you go: I travel to Hero Creek on Volcano Island, rent a studio flat and adopt 2 cats, who I dub Meatloaf and Burnie (Not to be confused with Burrnie, the holding midfielder from Höllviken). Meatloaf because when he lies down he tucks his legs under his body and looks like a little brown meaty loaf of bread, and Burnie because as a darker cat he also looks like a meaty loaf of bread, but a burnt one.

There we go, I hope that quenches your thirst for story. I hope it sates your hunger for Narrative.

See you tomorrow for the start of our Angrense Adventure.

Ps, Angrense don’t have a nickname and I’d like to give them one!

Go here for more info and to give me any ideas you might have:

My Angrense-Nicknaming Reddit Post

Episode 13 >
Find me on:

Twitter

Facebook

The Wasted Talent Youtube Channel (For FM17 Videos)

Franjo’s Youtube Channel (For General Gaming Videos)

Author: wtfranjo

My name is Franjo. And I will be a Football Manager.

2 thoughts on “Our New League 101 (Franjo: A Journeyman Story – Mini-sode 12.5)”

Leave a Reply

