An Unexpected Applicant (Franjo: A Journeyman Story – Mini-sode 202.5)

Why would you want the job?

Start from the start with episode 1

< Episode 202

Screen Shot 2018-07-21 at 17.53.15

I fall to my knees, the tears streaming down my face as my trembling hand holds the phone to my ear. I can’t breathe. I feel as if a huge weight is pressing down on my chest, restricting me to short, sharp gasps of air.

“I take it that’s a no then?” Asks the mildly annoyed voice from the other end of the phone. I use my free hand to wipe the tears from my blurry eyes.

“Of course it is, you bloody spoon!” I manage, through my hysterical laughter.

“Why?”

“Oh well let’s run through the checklist shall we?” I straighten up. “Because you bailed on Auxerre! Because you bailed on me! Because you’re the Hull City manager for fucks sake! Why would I want you as my assistant again?” I pause, the laughter now well and truly gone from my voice. “Frankly, Peter, why would you want the job?”

Screen Shot 2018-07-21 at 17.54.44

Screen Shot 2018-07-21 at 17.54.36

“I do my best work for England.” Crouch replies glumly.

“Oh I know you do.” I pull myself back into my office chair, still holding the phone to my ear. “I haven’t forgotten. 20 goals in-”

“22.” He cuts across me. “22 goals in 42 caps.”

“Right. Not really the point though, is it? We’re talking about the assistant manager’s job and I need someone I can trust.” He starts to protest, but I cut him off. “Besides, I’ve already hired someone.”

“Have you?” He sounds quite hurt. “Who? Bechkoura?”

“No, Bechkoura’s sticking with France, the unappreciative tit… It’s Rui Faria.”

Screen Shot 2018-07-21 at 17.58.29

“Rui Faria?!” He groans. “Why does he even want the job? Aren’t his hands full with United?”

“Aren’t yours full with Hull?” I laugh. “You know… Being the manager and everything. And Faria’s great! He’s worked under Mourinho for years, worked at a load of top clubs…”

“Not scored any England goals though, has he.” Crouch replies bluntly.

“No, you’ve got me there.” I concede. “Sorry, Crouchy.”

“I just thought you could have used some international experience on your team, you know… After…”

“The Semi Finals is still a fucking achievement! Why will nobody agree with me?!” There’s a long, awkward pause.

“Is it though?”

“Yes. Good bye Peter. It’s been a pleasure as always.” I scathe, before hanging up and slamming the phone down on my desk. “It’s still an achievement.” I repeat quietly, to my empty office.

Mini-sode 205.5.5 >

Author: DOgames

Amateur Game Designer, Writer, Artist, Musician

One thought on “An Unexpected Applicant (Franjo: A Journeyman Story – Mini-sode 202.5)”

Leave a comment